January is School Board Recognition Month and an opportunity for local schools and
communities to honor Oklahoma’s more than 2,700 elected school board members for their
dedication to children and schools.
“Providing our community’s children with a solid education is the most important investment
we can make”, said James Ramsey, Superintendent. “We’re proud of our district, and School
Board Recognition Month is the time to say thank you and celebrate the accomplishments of
our elected board members.”
In Perkins-Tryon, school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on
complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear
responsibility for an annual budget of $8.6 million, 1,550 students, 168 employees and 4 school
“School board members make critical decisions that affect Oklahoma children and oversee
billions in educational expenditures,” notes Ramsey. “They preserve the core of our democracy
– public education.”
The men and women serving Perkins-Tryon School and their years of service are: President,
Winfrey Kinzie, 18 years; Vice-President, Erica Hering, 3 years; Clerk, Alan Nietenhoefer, 7
years; Member, Rick Lomenick, 16 years; and Member; Dustin Bledsoe, 10 years.